The Detox Diaries: A Preamble

Well, finals are finally done, and I have officially survived my freshman year of college (hallelujah!).  However, I can say my body has not survived the long nights of studying, excess amounts of caffeine, and poor choices in what to eat.  Towards the end of the semester I was experiencing headaches, aches and pains, and I was exhausted for no reason.  My theory is that it was the drinks and foods I was consuming.  The foods we eat play a big role in how we feel both mentally and physically.  Most of the food we consume now are processed and contain little nutrients that are beneficial to our body.  That’s when I came to the conclusion; it is time for a body detox.

This is my first body detox, and I am both excited and nervous.  My biggest worry is that I will break down and not be able to complete the detox.  Especially because I am am a huge coffee drinker, and I rarely go a day without it (hint: coffee is on the do not consume list when doing a body detox).  I must have faith in myself!  However, I have done my research so I am fully aware as to what I am getting myself into.  I have spoken to some friends who have done the body detox in the past.  They both had great things to say!

The whole point of a body detox is to cleanse yourself, and get rid of all of the toxins that have built up in your system.  By eliminating saturated fats, processed foods, and drinks like alcohol and coffee, you are essentially “recharging your batteries.”

During the detox, studies suggest that you exercise regularly, drink plenty of water, meditate and practice yoga.  All of this is a way to relieve yourself of stress, and to feel your very best.  There are several ways to detox your body.  There is the all juice detox which helps give your digestive system a break, or stick with the seven day schedule like me.  It all depends on who you are, and what your body is like.  Some should ask a doctor or nutritionist first before proceeding with a body detox.

I think that this will be a great experience, challenge, and life-changing event for me.  I hope that after this detox and I can choose a healthier way to live, and to regularly keep up with exercise and yoga.  Stay tuned as to how my week goes.  I plan to concoct some interesting detox meals!

Also, if you are interested in more information I found Whole Living  to be extremely helpful!  Thanks for reading.

9 comments

  1. Good luck! I think it’s a wonderful thing you are doing & I am looking forward to you writing about your daily experiences 🙂

Tell me what your heart desires

