The Detox Diaries: A Day of Doubt

Today was day two of my body detox.  Unfortunately, I woke up with a bad headache.  I always get headaches so not sure if this is the caffeine withdrawal or just a typical day in the life of Madi.  However, with some slight hesitation to get out of bed, I headed to the kitchen to fix me a cup of tea.  This time it was Salada’s Citrus with original antioxidants.  Thoroughly enjoyed this tea, even though it was not a steaming cup of joe.  Besides my tea, my breakfast was a smoothie (frappe as I like to call them) consisting of:

One mango

One orange

One apple (any kind works) peeled

Three plump strawberries

Handful of spinach leaves

Ice

The combinations were quite delicious.  I really enjoy mangoes in any kind of smoothie.  I tried using apples after trying a smoothie in the mall where they used them.  I was skeptical, but the taste is refreshing and sweet.  The spinach leaves were thrown in last minute.  Blended up spinach is a beneficial way to get protein, a variety of vitamins, fiber and iron!  Plus, it has relatively no taste when mixed in with all of the other fruits, so it is a plus to add this leafy green.

It rained the entire day so there was no chance I was going to run (like I normally do).  I could have tried to do some cardio, but do to the pounding that was my headache, I opted out of that for today.  I did go for a brisk walk to the supermarket carrying a gallon of milk on my back, so I wasn’t completely immobile.

My lunch consisted of a salad with iceberg lettuce, carrots, cabbage, and sugar peas.  When I eat salads, I normally choose a light vinaigrette or some sort of oily dressing rather than a ranch dressing.  Since I can’t eat any of those, I made my own dressing consisting of squeezed grapefruit juice, orange juice, and a little lemon zest.  I found it to be surprisingly juicy and fresh.  It made the vegetables in the salad have flavor, and they were juicy because they were not weighed down by a thick dressing.  I also had a handful of almonds for a snack.

My dinner was a stir-fried medley of broccoli and cauliflower, with a side of brown rice that was blended with a mixture of onions and peppers.  Overall, satisfying.

Today was a disappointment in the way I felt emotionally.  At one point I really wanted to stop this detox nonsense, and pour me a cup of coffee and have a big bowl of cereal.  This upset me even more because I was having doubts on the second day!  I had a horrible headache, and this contributed to my crankiness, for sure.  The fact that I can’t eat any of the foods I normally would played a part as well.  Then I had to have a nice chat with my subconcious.  This detox is teaching me some self control.  I do enjoy eating good food, and I am at a comfortable weight for my age and height (of course it would not hurt to run a little more, maybe some crunches here and there).  Despite that fact, I need to learn to not eat just because I can, and to be a little more conscientious about the foods I do eat.  It was helpful that my mother was around me today to coax me back into my positive attitude, and my kitty was there waiting for a good cuddle.

Today was difficult, but overall a good learning experience.  I am gaining more self control that I can use later on in life, and it will help me maintain a good healthy lifestyle after this detox.  I think I will try yoga tomorrow, and start up my meditation again.  That seems to help when I am stressed.  Having people around me that support my decision also is helpful.  The more people cheer me on, the more I want to continue.  I don’t want to let down others, but more importantly, I do not want to let down myself.

4 comments

  1. Fabulous job u r doing my dear ! I’ve been told by others that have done similar detoxes that by the end of the third day ur cravings settle down. Soo proud of u & love reading about ur new adventure ! 🙂

  2. Madi, i really enjoyed reading this post!
    it is very inspiring for anyone doing a detox because if they have doubts of any kind, they know that they aren’t alone and that they can pull through it with a little faith and positivity! (:
    looking forward to reading about todays adventure! (:
    keep it up girl, you’re my inspiration to detox!! (:
    so proud ❤

    1. I am glad you enjoyed! I hope that I can inspire others, because I have found people that have inspired me to keep going! It is a very hard thing to do when you are used to just eating when your hungry, and snacking on whatever is available. Can’t wait until you try to detox too!!!

Tell me what your heart desires

