The Detox Diaries: How to Eat Out (And Not Starve)

Today was day five of my body detox.  Started off with a light breakfast of a banana and some strawberries, and a cup of Salada’s Purple antioxidant tea.  I drank some water, stretched, and had a very successful run.  It was quite the beautiful day, so that made the run even more enjoyable.

I was excited for today because my boyfriend was coming home from college for the weekend.  Since we normally go out to eat on Friday nights, I figured we should value the tradition and find an eatery that contained food he would enjoy, and that was detox friendly.  There is a place called Saladworks that has numerous locations, and luckily one in our area. Colin (my boyfriend) was not particulary interested, but I was quite persuasive.  I figured it would be good for both of us to enjoy a healthier meal, together.  Now of course, Saladworks doesn’t just have salad.  They also have soups, panani’s, and wraps.

The atmosphere was very relaxing.  There is huge open space, with the option of a booth or table for seating.  When you go to order, there is a long section of salad toppings.  Anything from olives to artichoke hearts. They also have many different types of meat and cheeses, and a plethora of dressing  options.  It essentially looks like a Subway, only with salad fixings instead of hoagie fixings.

I was up first, and picked my lettuce base.  I chose spring mix, and salad toppings of onions, black olives, carrots, garbonzo beans and a black bean medley.  For my drink, a water bottle.  Colin chose a salad called “Tivoli,” which had iceberg and romaine, radiatorre pasta, pepperoni, tomatoes, baked ham, pepper jack cheese and oven browned turkey.  His was a lot more heartier and broke several rules in the body detox.  Our salads were huge, and I hungrily gobbled mine down.  There is nothing like a big salad on a beautiful day.  It was very satisfying, and I will surely go again (detox or no detox).

This day proved that I can still have a good time with friends and loved ones while on a detox.  I was able to successfully find a place that catered to my needs, and Colin’s.  Thankfully, he enjoyed the salad as much as I enjoyed mine.  It was a great evening, and I am wondering what tomorrow will have in store for me.

Tell me what your heart desires

