The Detox Diaries: A Belated Final Entry

Although I have been bad about blogging everyday, I am attempting to redeem myself with one final entry (about the detox).  This past Saturday had it’s ups and downs.  I have to admit, Saturday morning I semi-broke my good streak.  I am so sorry fellow readers, I hope you all are not too upset with me.

I broke it with a cup of coffee.

My famous smoothies

However, I felt no guilt  I’ll get into that in a bit.  After my cup of sins, I headed to my boyfriends house for the day.  It was a beautiful day, and I decided I should make us some delicious smoothies.  It contained a mango, strawberries, oranges, and of course, spinach leaves for nutrients.  What’s even better, we enjoyed them in a hammock!

Stir-fry, sweet potato french fries, brown rice

For dinner, I decided to make us a heaping amount of vegetable stir-fry.  I cut up carrots, colorful peppers, water chestnuts, broccoli, and onion.  I also cut up some sweet potatoes, mixed them in a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and made french fries.

I made a “sauce” for the stir-fry, which I found to be the secret into making perfect stir-fry.  When you are making a huge amount of stir-fry, I either like a decent amount of oil, or a sauce.  The sauce really isn’t a sauce.  All I used was a little bit of water, little bit of soy sauce, ginger, and red pepper.  I added this sauce when the stir fry was about two-thirds done, and it simmered along with the vegetables, flavoring them all.

I also made brown rice to go alongside of the stir-fry.  Brown rice is very tricky to make, in my opinion.  It cooks differently than white rice, probably because it is healthier for you.  I seasoned the rice with some basil, and served with the fries, and stir-fry.

Needless to say, there were no leftovers.

As for Sunday, technically I should have kept the detox going all day.  However, my family had a big dinner planned that I really wanted to be a part of.  I did make sure I ate some fruit during Sunday, so I did maintain a healthy day.  We also had a salad with dinner, so that made me feel better.

While some may look at me with disappointment, and say how could I not stick with it, I must say several things.  I am content with everything I accomplished during this 5-6 day period.  If you know me, I am not the kind of person to diet, or be overly concerned with eating habits.  I am also not the kind of person to give up the foods I love, because I treat my food like friends.  I respect the way food tastes, looks, and smells.  I appreciate good food.  I am also not the kind of person to give up coffee.  Especially not for that long of a time span (I know it’s only a week….but still).  I have friends whose parents always invite me over for dinner because they know I can devour a huge amount of food.  As a tween, I could eat whatever I wanted and not gain a pound.

As I get older, I realize not only can I not eat whatever I want, but it is not healthy to eat whatever I want.  Yes, a slice of cake and ice cream is wonderful, but not everyday.  Yes, sometimes vegetables and fruits are not as tasty as a burger and fries, but they are good for your body.

For all the skeptical folks out there, the detox was not a bunch of “hooey.”  I felt more energized, awake, and experienced no ongoing severe headaches (except the one towards the beginning).  I also felt no pains in my back.  I found getting a decent amount of sleep and exercise greatly added to the effects of the detox.

Overall I can say, this experience may not be for everyone.  It is hard not to fall back into your old habits after the detox.  I thought, “Well I haven’t had cake in four days….one slice won’t hurt.”  This is true, maybe one slice of cake won’t hurt.  But if I say that every time I want something “naughty,” I will fall right back into my old habits.

Throughout this detox, I realized that our bodies should be treated like a fine piece of china.  We are all beautiful and unique in our own ways, but we are not as strong as we think.  If we keep putting processed foods, artificial sweeteners, high amounts of sugar and sodium, and fast food into our bodies, we will break.

Cheers to a healthy life!

So, try a body detox if you wish, but just remember a detox will not solve all of your problems.  The body detox can help you realize what you need to do for yourself in the future, and that is all that matters.  Learning how to maintain a healthy lifestyle is truly the key to success.

4 comments

  1. A good final write up. I’m glad you were able to notice benefits and was able to physically get something out of this (not that I wasn’t expecting you to). What was your favorite part?

    1. Thanks Colin! I am glad I got to feel something out of this. My favorite part was being able to create all the different meals. I don’t normally get to cook, so having an excuse to cook and having a select few items to cook with was interesting. I can now say I am a pro at stir-fry, would you agree?

Tell me what your heart desires

