Oh Barnacles: A Post for Ernest Borgnine

“Eviiiiiiil, Evvvviiiiiiiil!!!!”

This is what I thought when I heard that Ernest Borgnine, voice of Mermaid Man, passed away on Sunday.

Unless you lived under a rock like Patrick Star, Mermaid Man was a popular character in the hit Nickelodeon show, Spongebob Squarepants.  

Mermaid Man is an aging superhero who is downright hilarious, and also has a goofy sidekick called Barnacle Boy.  They had playful banter on the show, as well as Mermaid Man acting constantly confused like a typical senile old man.  I always enjoyed the episodes with Mermaid Man.  Borgnine’s voice was perfect, and really made the character come to life.

According to an article, Borgnine never retired.

Borgnine was also known for his Oscar winning acting in Marty, back in 1955.  I personally only know him from Spongebob Squarepants, but it sounds like the man had it going on.

We should take this time to relive our childhod, and watch re-runs of the classic 90’s cartoon.  I will forever love Spongebob Squarepants, and never forget the man who was Mermaid Man.

You have made many children laugh Borgnine, and for that I say, “You did it, you old coot.”

2 comments

  1. Great blog post. Thank you for bringing me back to my teen years. I had to watch the video posted on the original article. Maybe I should YouTube all of the Spongebob Squarepants episodes…

    1. Thank you Nick! I am glad you can be transported back to a better time, in my opinion. I remember my brother and I always would watch them, and my dad taped all of them on VHS tapes! You should most certainly watch all of them again, they are still funny years later. Thanks for reading!

Tell me what your heart desires

