Oh, The Places I Am Going!

Since I am starting up school again on Monday, I decided to think about everything I have accomplished in the past three months.  I have to say this summer was a lot different than all of my other breaks in the past.  Most of the time, my summers were spent either doing nothing all day, hanging out with friends, or working at a part time job.

This summer, I can say I spent my time a little more wisely, and I realized how much I have grown over such a short amount of time.

I successfully scored my first internship with a local newspaper in my area.  I was really excited to start this internship, seeing as it is exactly the direction I want to go with my life.  I think internships give students the opportunity to really see if they want to work in a given field.  You can go through your whole life thinking, “This is what I want to do” and then you get out there and realize you don’t belong.  I have always known I was going to do something with writing.  During my first year of college, I listened to friends talk about how they hate the school they go to, and how they can’t wait to change their major.  I always thought to myself, I could never see myself doing anything else but this.  I fixed up my resume before finals week and thought, “Time to get some experience!”

At the library with Larry the Cucumber…it was a slow night

And so came the internship, where I met inspiring people who gave me advice and bits of wisdom on the career that I want.  All the people I had the opportunity to work with gave me the chance to get my name out there and to show others what I can do.  I got to meet unique individuals, and I had the chance to share some of their stories with the community.  It’s like a chain of reaction: I helped the newspaper, they helped me, and I helped members of the community.  The media can be a beautiful thing.

So while I never got to sleep in this summer, nor bum around all day, I instead got to leave the house as a young woman, not a girl.  I loved staying busy all day, and actually feel like I am doing something worthwhile.

I hope to keep in touch with everyone that I met over these few months, including a new friend I met on the train.  It was great to have someone to talk to about intern life, and he knew great places to eat in Doylestown, Pa (Hickory Kitchen was a favorite of his).

Besides working part time as an intern, I also continued to work at the library, picking up tons of extra shifts throughout the week.  It was hard because sometimes all I wanted to do was come home and sleep, but instead I had to go straight from the internship to my library job.  This was definitely something new for me because I really had to figure out how to balance my schedule.  I think the amount I worked this summer will help me prepare for school, and not only that but the “real world.”  So many young teens this day have it made, and get things handed to them on a silver platter.  That sounds great, but in the future when they have to have  a real job, perhaps they will have a hard time adjusting.

Besides all the working, I have to say I have had my fair share of goofing off.  My best friend moved back down from the Pocono’s so I got to see her more than I normally would. I saw one of my favorite bands in concert, Train!  I got my own kitty, Zooey, who is pretty much the best cat anyone could ask for.

I think in life when you have the opportunity to surround yourself with amazing people, you should do it.  Why chose anything else?  All my friends and family members have helped me transition from a young teen into a responsible adult.  I can’t give them all the credit though, I have done my fair share of growing up all on my own.  I think now would be a good time to quote Dr. Seuss from his book “Oh, The Places You’ll Go!”

Had to include Zooey in here, such a little baby here

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

Sophomore year, here I come!

4 comments

  1. You were indeed quite busy this summer! Im proud of you for finding that internship, that was a really great opportunity that you worked out all on your own.

Tell me what your heart desires

