Tips That Are Handy to Survive Hurricane Sandy

This is your meteorologist Madi Moore, with your WordPress weather forecast.

The East Coast is currently experiencing something that will no doubt go down in history.  Hurricane Sandy is causing millions of people from South Carolina to Maine to be on close watch, and in extreme cases, evacuation (CNN).  Everyone has been desperately preparing for this “super storm,” and they are getting ready for the worst to hit, which could include water damage, flooding, power lines down, and fallen trees.

You can scroll through Twitter, Facebook, news blogs, and listen to the radio.  They will give helpful tips on how to stay safe and how to prepare for Sandy.  Well, I have used what social media has given me, and I have created my own tips for surviving this storm.

1.  Food and Water:  Before the storm hit, I saw the same thing happen when Hurricane Issac came to town.  Everyone rushes to the supermarket to buy life’s essentials.  I had to chuckle when I walked down the aisle and saw no more gallons of water left, and same to the bread, milk and eggs.  The water thing makes sense, but at the same time, what human consumes the appropriate amount of water on a normal basis?  Suddenly a hurricane approaching reminds people of how much water they normally should be drinking.  That’s right folks, there isn’t going to be a McDonald’s or Dunkin Dounts open, might as well try Mother Nature’s beverage for a change.  It makes no sense why people buy milk and eggs.  If your power goes out, you just wasted money.  Dairy, meat, poultry, eggs; they all have a short life span when the fridge stops staying chilly.  Your fridge will stay cold for four hours if you don’t unnecessarily open it, but other than that, if the power goes the best option is to cook up everything so it doesn’t go to waste.

I was aware of the fact that food spoils, so that is why I stocked up on my own snacks.  Tolberone chocolate, caramel popcorn, potato chips, Arizona Iced Tea, bagels, and if my stove still works, Campbells’s Chunky soup.  I didn’t need to stock up on water either.  All I need is coffee as my main refreshment.  The power is down you say?  No worries, I pre-made two pots of coffee.  But I can’t microwave it?  I will drink it black and cold if I have to, no hurricane can take my cup of Joe from me!

2.  Electronics:  Since there is the chance that your power might be lost, now is the time to furiously charge every electronic in your possession   Laptops, cell phones, iPods, iPads, hand-held devices: you name it!  We all know we cannot do anything without these electronics, and I can say there will be even more destruction if people have to actually converse without their technology.

3.  Staying Safe:  The obvious is to not go into work, unless you are important personnel (as according to the Mayor of Philadelphia).  Don’t risk your safety for the mighty dollar!  Stay inside and stay off of the roads, especially now when the worst has yet to come.  Instead, I have found that napping a majority of the day under mounds of blankets is a perfect way to stay safe.  You can block out all of the scary sounds coming from beyond the windows.  If you don’t feel like napping, you can read or kill time on the computer, play board games or clean your room that hasn’t been cleaned in weeks…

4.  Warmth:  If the power does go out, how are you going to stay warm?  Instead of suffering in the dark, I planned ahead and got out all of my fuzziest pajama pants, scarves, hats, thick blankets and sweatshirts, and knee high socks.  Bundle up!

The best advice isn’t to just “wait it out.”  This isn’t the apocalypse  but it sure does feel like it.  The East Coast hasn’t experienced anything like this, so it’s no wonder people are freaking out.  My advice?  Make the best of it.  Stay inside (duh, the obvious), and keep your friends and family (and pets) within close contact.  Have your flashlights available in case you lose power, and know what you are going to eat in case power goes out.  Go off of what your state officials are saying, and you will be fine.  Just think, this will make great stories for the grandchildren.

4 comments

  1. all great pieces of advice. unfortunately i am important personnel so i cant cash in on that mound of blankets idea. but stocking up is a great idea. and the best thing is to stay occupied so u dont dwell on the storm.

    1. Nice grammar darling. Don’t tell everyone that you work for PECO (oops look what I did there) because they will yell at you for not having power! Hehe…but thank you for the comments. Glad you and I both stocked up.

  2. I always saw power outages (as seen by many from Hurricane Sandy) as a way to catch up & bond with family… after everyone stops panicking about the power being out that is. My family used to play board games together when the power went out, so you almost would look forward to a storm. Although a hurricane & a summer storm knocking out power are two totally different severities. You can’t play board games for days until power comes back. =P

    I agree with you though. I always saw it absurd when I saw people wiping eggs & milk off the shelves. On TV before the storm a man boasted about how much meat he got for the storm. Unless he plans using a gas grill the first night of a storm, it’d spoil instantly. & you made a good point about the water statement: people do not normally care to drink the recommended amount of water daily not to mention warm water when power goes out.

    1. Hello Shanna and welcome to WordPress! Thanks for being my latest follower! The more the merrier. It’s true. You realize that power is crucial to people living in developed countries. And seeing that importance, you realize that there are people who are not as lucky as us. It makes me value things a lot more. Although I still find myself complaining about things being closed and stuff, I still manage to stay optimistic, for the most part.

Tell me what your heart desires

