Frankenstorm Didn’t Kill Facebook (Although I Wish it Did)

Now that Frankenstorm has done it’s damage, it’s time to sit back and think about what we learned.

Wait, what?

You heard me.  I think that we can learn a lot from this storm.  For one, you can never be too prepared.  As much as you think that nothing bad will happen to you or your family, you can never be so sure.  Although my family was prepared, we never could have anticipated the water damage we received after the storm.  There were tons of leaks in multiple parts of our house.  We know now that we should expect that as a worse case scenario.

Something else that I learned, is being grateful for everything that we have.  We live in a first world nation.  We are constantly connected to the internet, our phones, our electronic gadgets, and electricity as a whole.  That’s why with a storm like this, people went ballistic.  I can’t tell you how many Facebook statuses I read, or tweets, saying “OMG NO POWER.”  The first thing these kids were thinking of wasn’t “Oh no, how will I be able to heat up food, or keep my food refrigerated ”  No, the first thing people do is update their statuses to Facebook.  Let me just quick scroll through the list of people that told me their power was off, like they didn’t know that was going to happen.  First, I would like to point out that this was a given.  We were expecting a tropical storm to hit, what did you think?  The endless virtual complaints angered me so much, I just got off my computer.  I was thankful enough to have kept my power.  It went off for about a minute tops.  So, call me biased but I think the complaining is ridiculous.  Your power will eventually come back on.  I know it feels like you can’t do anything, but maybe being without your laptop and cell phone is a bit healthy?  It allows you to talk with your family or friends, with no electrical interference.  Sometimes, good ol’ quality time can make the day go by a lot faster.

I drove by houses today and saw several uprooted trees, broken power lines, and a few slightly destroyed houses.  It really makes me sit back and realize how lucky, how unbelievably lucky my family is.  If a tree fell on our house, I know we would not be able to afford the repair costs, and I’m not sure how insurance works with trees crushing your house.  Also, if you really want to be thankful, we can look at all of the houses and cars that are destroyed, and lives that are altered because of this hurricane.  The places where the most damage was seen was obviously along the cost.  Some of these houses are either flooded, or destroyed.  Streets in New York were flooded.  Shore houses need full repair.  I think it’s a little sad that we are complaining about not being able to charge our phones.

It’s hard to compare a mountain and a mole hill.  But, I think with situations like these it makes sense.  No matter what happens to you in life, you need to learn to pick yourself up, and think of all the good things that you have in your life.  Bad things are always going to happen.  It’s all about how you deal with the situation.

I hope that the people who have damaged homes, or loss of power for days and days, will seek peace soon.  I surely wish that there was something I could do to help.  I think keeping a positive attitude is the one think I can do for sure.

2 comments

Tell me what your heart desires

