Nothing Left to Say: My Heart is With Sandy Hook

There are so many things I want to say about the recent, and tragic events in Connecticut. Each time it has been shown on the news, or my Twitter or Facebook feed, my stomach has twisted up in knots. I have been meaning to write about how precious life is, both for my sake and others. I cannot imagine being a mother, or even a sibling or relative, who lives in Newtown, Connecticut. What these people have just gone through is unrealistic. Every time I read about deaths in the newspaper, or online, I can’t think of it as real. I can’t believe it and I try not to. But it is real. I will spare you the details of what has happened at Sandy Hook Elementary. If you are not up to speed on the happenings, please do so. It is important to know the whole story. It is also important to realize that these shootings, these massacres, have to end. How many times will we have to connect the dots, and determine how truly mentally ill a killer was? How many times will we hear, “We never thought he would turn out that way.” How many lives will be lost until we realize we have a serious problem relating to the gun laws? The President mentioned “meaningful action” will be taken, to which a reporter said that it should be immediate action. I agree. The gun laws have always been overlooked, and there have been cases where people have tried to fix the gun laws, but nothing has been done. I get it. You want protection, and you deserve that right. You want to hunt too, which I have begun to support more since my school has a lot of students to do so. Sometimes in life, the things we want the most can’t always come so easily. People want to own guns, and I think a majority want it quick and fast. They don’t want waiting periods or background checks, or perhaps even mental health tests. And who would want to go through all that trouble? I can assure you that all of the parents, relatives and friends of lives lost at Sandy Hook would go through that trouble. Although, I am sure all they really want is their 5-10 year olds back. If something is not done about the gun laws, I don’t know what will happen. How many more schools will be taken over? How many reputations of institutes ruined? How many young lives destroyed, or gone forever? It saddens me to think that government officials, or whoever is in charge of the gun laws, would rather push this under the rug, then deal with it. Think about it logically. Is it right that anyone (of the age with state identification) can purchase something that kills oh so easily? Does the drive to face a problem have to start with high schoolers and end with toddlers getting murdered? I’m not pointing the blame at one organization, one group of people. It is our nation as a whole that has failed to pay attention to this ongoing problem. I never thought of even bringing up the gun laws in a blog post. It’s as taboo as abortion, or politics. People will argue with you for the sake of arguing, and many fail to see reason in your side. I want people to have their guns, and I want people to be able to continue hunting, a pastime many enjoy. I also want my future kids to be able to go to public school without fear. I want to be able to tell them all the great stories about school, not Columbine or Virginia Tech massacres. Perhaps we need to make a test so that before you purchase a gun, you can be evaluated to see if you are “unstable.” It is easy to pretend you are “healthy.” And if someone who seemed “a little off” came into your store and wanted to purchase something as expensive as an assault rifle, would you turn them down? Many may read this and only see that I have slightly bashed the gun laws. But read between the lines. What am I really saying? Am I just some girl who thinks she can write whatever democratic piece of crap she wants? Do I even have any say in this matter? Of course I do. I have younger sisters, and I couldn’t imagine being at my college and getting a phone call from my mom saying, “Something has happened at the junior high school…” I just honestly couldn’t imagine what I would do. Just this year someone “suspicious with a gun” was walking on DelVal’s campus (turns out it was just a paintball gun). My boyfriend’s friend lived in Colorado over the summer, and when I heard about the Aurora shooting, I instantly thought of him. I knew he liked comics and video games, and I was sure he would have seen Batman. Thankfully, he was a few hours away from the town. Most importantly, when I read about how 1st graders were told to cover their eyes so they wouldn’t see blood and glass, I can’t help but feel sympathetic. What are your views? Do you think nothing should be done? Is there anything we can do? Should we leave it up to government officials, or in the hands of parents and guardians to watch over their children so they do not develop a mental illness? I want change, and now, more than ever, is the time.

9 comments

    1. Exactly. There is so much to say. I think it’s definitely a combination. I don’t think people understand how mental illnesses affect families, and the individual themselves. I’ll check out the link.

  1. The thing is, if someone wants to kill someone, they will. They will use a knife or find a friend with a gun and obtain that. Limiting gun laws just leaves many unprotected against a criminal or someone who has no regard for the law. There was this town where crime/theft was becoming a problem, so at a town meeting everyone received a gun and gave the people permission to use it to protect themselves and their property. The crime dropped significantly because the criminals in town knew everyone had a gun. There are already gun regulations where you go through background checks and whatnot. Making gun laws more strict is not going to solve the shooting problems. I do think that “extreme” guns should not be sold. Citizens should only be allowed to purchase a hand gun for safety and hunters can have the rifles & crossbows.

    1. I agree that any crazy person will get a gun at any chance they get. In this particular case, the kid had access to the guns in his own home. We could argue that it’s up to the parents to lock it up or keep it away, but then we could also say it wouldn’t matter, he would get it no matter what. There are background checks, yes, but at gun shows you don’t have to do that. And there is the black market, but that will never be stopped. I don’t think just a different regulation on gun control will solve the shootings. I think that regulation along with giving more care to mental health issues is the way to solve the problem. And yes my main issue, something I disagree with, is that people can purchase guns I have only heard of on Call of Duty. In what case would you need a MKwhateverit’scalled. You can’t say hunting because you would blow the deer to smithereens. If you want to protect yourself then a hand gun is safe, not something where you can kill 10 people in 10 seconds. It will forever be a debate.

      1. Oh I agree completely that no one should be allowed access to a gun that can kill so many people so fast. I think in the case with Newtown, CT that his parents aren’t to blame for not locking up guns in fear of their 24 year old son gaining access to them. I know my parents also kept that stuff under lock & key growing up, but now that I’m older they’re more lax about it. You don’t think your older kid is going to do anything as drastic and horrible as what happened in CT.

  2. i remember we talked about this after it happened, but theres still so much to say. it really is a touchy subject, but something needs to be done. the problem is figuring out what exactly that something is. no matter how strict gun shops are forced to be, someone will always be able to buy from them and then sell to a secondary market, so changing those laws wouldnt help much. changing the laws regarding what they are allowed to sell would be a good starting point. it wouldnt stop things like this from happening, but it would certainly lessen the damage the psychos are able to do. it really is a shame that nothing has happened yet because now that this situation has (sadly) just become another columbine, it is not in most peoples minds any longer and thus congress is not pressured into doing something about it.

    1. Congress isn’t pressed to do much of anything, unless it pertains to what they want in that moment. But don’t mind me and my politics rage. I am still torn about what happened. Something else that bothered me is people insisting that it was the media’s fault for these things to happen. Sure, blame the media because that is such a safe way to not offend someone. But yes, I do agree, something needs to be done. What? I don’t know.

  3. When I heard this story I was mortified and overcome with grief as they showed the pictures of all these little children who were gunned down. Such innocent sweet things. And the teachers who gave their lives trying to protect them. There is no reason we need “assault weapons” circulating in our nation. I know it is a hard fix and there have been many attempts to rectify the problem. It is too easy to acquire these weapons and there is no reason a “civilian” needs these. I know I don’t hold a popular view because I am anti-gun all around. And when people say they will just find another way to kill, maybe they will, but they won’t be able to obliterate 25 lives in 3 seconds. That’s why guns make it so easy to kill. You are disconnected from the “killing”. Stabbing, strangling etc are all very personal and small in numbers. Sometimes for the good of civilization we might have to forfeit a right. This right is not what our forefathers had in mind.

    1. I agree. I do think that it is hard to take away a whole right from humanity. But maybe that is what we need to do? It’s hard for you and I to say anything because maybe we would feel differently if we believed in guns. Again I saw that someone gunned down 5 or so individuals today in California, before the gunman shot himself. Why? Who knows. Who knows why any of these people do what they do. Who knows if banning guns will do anything. All I know is something needs to be done to make it safe for the children of future generations.

Tell me what your heart desires

