There is Only One “You”

Sometimes I wonder what I would define as friendship. I just look at what I value in all of my closest friends. A true friend is there for you no matter what happens. Every bump in the road, they are right there beside you. They don’t judge you for who you are, or who you are becoming.

Over time, we all will change, and it’s those true friends that will stand by you through these tough times. I know that through the end of college I will become a completely different person, and I hope that I still will share good relationships with the people that mean the most to me.

I’ve realized that close friends can even do things wrong. The smallest thing can upset you in the biggest way. But, if you truly care about a person, you will not throw away the relationship. You will only try that much harder to make it better.

I know that I have said things to my friends that they may have disagreed with, or even started a fight over. I can only hope that one day they will see I have meant no harm and only have tried to make myself a better friend. I’ve found that holding things inside only makes you an angry and bitter person. It doesn’t help the relationship, only hurts it.

But sometimes telling people how you really feel is equally as bad. Sometimes when you tell someone how you really feel, whether it be for something big or small, can cause more problems than good things.

With my new year’s resolution of caring about myself and my feelings, I think that I may be misunderstood by someone close to me. I only hope that one day they can see the reason for what I have said or done. Taking care of your feelings should come first, because there is only one “you.”

6 comments

  1. its true, the most important person in your life is you, dont ever forget that. that can be taken the wrong way, but i think you get what im saying ;). and i actually do have a definition for friendship thats held up pretty well through the years. if you can hang out with someone one on one and it isnt awkward, then youre friends. close friends need more than that, but that is where the line is drawn, for me at least. and speaking your mind can sometimes cause problems, but working through those problems makes it better in the end. if you dont work through it, or dont feel comfortable bringing up the problem, the friendship wasnt meant to be anyway.

    1. I think a lot of the times, people forget to care about themselves, and that’s how they end up the hurt. I do agree, some of my best relationships, as you know, are the friends that you can talk to after not speaking for months.

  2. I agree 100%. It’s so easy for people to lose themselves in trying to be “cool” or trying to impress someone they’re interested in. It’s always important to do what’s best for number one and not lose yourself in the craziness of life. I don’t think it makes anyone a bad friend for just expressing the concern and wanting the person to care about themselves as much as you do, you know?

    1. Even though I have changed so much through college and getting older, I still realize I put everyone else before me. I agree with you, I don’t think expressing concern and wanting people to care as much as I do is a bad thing. Which is exactly why I want to start doing just that! I know you’ll always be here for me that’s for sure! Miss you!

Tell me what your heart desires

