Steps to the Courtyard

Alone

Fully recognizing solitude

With the warmth from the sun

Almost exactly overhead

Grazing the corner of my ear

Feet on a gravel path

Disturbing my distance

Buzzing yellow jackets

And crickets to a tempo

I cannot yet understand

Why I feel the need to sit

And stay

Alone

Only sometimes

Touching my sun-beam face

Its roughness

Against the light of my hair

Feet on a gravel path

Butterflies moving drunkenly

Cutting through spindly bushes

And prickle topped cacti

The home to an orchestra, no,

A choir

Of melodious material

Alone

Tell me what your heart desires

